Natalia Prokopenko

Russian composer born in 1985

Works in the repertoire

Chronoclasm II (2021)| Instrumental ensemble | 6’40

Natalia Prokopenko was born in 1985, Shchelkovo (Moscow region).

She graduated from Composition faculty of Moscow State conservatory in 2010 cum laude. In 2013 she finished her studies at the postgraduate course, where she studied composition with professor Y.Vorontsov.

Natalia is a winner of composition competitions: The First All-Russian composers’ competition on YouTube (2010, II prize), IV International composers’ competition for youth “A Step to the left” (Saint-Petersburg, 2011, II prize), II International Myaskovsky competition for young composers (2012, diploma), VII International Jurgenson Competition of young composers (Moscow, 2013, I prize), II International Sergei Slonimsky Composition Competition (Saint-Petersburg, 2015, diploma).

Natalia was a student in different music academies and courses, such as Second International Moscow contemporary music ensemble Academy (2012, tutors – Mark Andre and Klaus Lang), Fontainebleau Summer Schools (2014, tutors – Allain Gaussin, François Paris and Franck Bedrossian), 47th and 49th International Summer Course for New Music in Darmstadt (2014, 2018  tutors – Hans Thomalla, Mark Andre and Clemens Gadenstätter), 9th International Ensemble and Composers Academy for Contemporary Music in Graz “Impuls” (2015).

Natalia Prokopenko’s works have been performed by such ensembles as Studio for New Music ensemble (Moscow), Moscow Contemporary Music Ensemble (MCME), eNsemble (Saint-Petersburg), David Oistrakh String Quartet, Russian National Orchestra (RNO),  Ensemble Proton Bern,  Ensemble Phoenix (Basel), Vertixe Sonora Ensemble (Vigo, Spain), Choir and Orchestra of  Tiroler Festspiele Erl (Austria) and others.

Natalia Prokopenko’s  chamber opera “The Other” was staged on the Small Stage of the K.S. Stanislavsky and V.I. Nemirovich-Danchenko Musical Theatre.
This opera was part of the project “coOPERAtion lab” that won the title of  Project of the Year – 2017.

Pour recevoir nos informations,
inscrivez vous à notre newsletter !