Solo bassoon and vocal ensemble of 6 to 12 female voices

LIBRETTO • on a poem by Goethe: Wandrers Nachtlied II

DURATION • 8 minutes

EDITOR • Durand

COMMISSION • Ministry of Culture

WORLD PREMIERE • October 3, 1998, Collegiate Church of Candes-Saint-Martin, Festival "Musiques d'Automne en Chinonais", by Pascal Gallois and Mikrokosmos, conducted by Loïc Pierre

Wandrers Nachtlied

Über allen Gipfeln
Ist Ruh,
In allen Wipfeln
Spürest du
Kaum einen Hauch;
Die Vögelein schweigen im Walde.
Warte nur, balde
Ruhest du auch.

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe


Wanderer’s nightsong II

Over every mountain-top
Lies peace,
In every tree-top
You scarcely feel
A breath of wind;
The little birds are hushed in the wood.
Wait, soon you too
Will be at peace.


English Translation © Richard Stokes